Don’t Stop Now…

There are a few things that keep me motivated especially since the closer you get to your goal the harder it becomes to shed the weight. In the beginning the weight seems to just fall off… but now that I find my self closer to my target weight…it’s like these last few lbs won’t budge. But the great thing is this isn’t a diet. This is a  lifestyle!!!! this is forever. There is no end to this…

HERE IS A FEW THINGS THAT KEEP ME GOING:

  • My Vision Board… My start to the new year (with a little nudge thanks to the BFF)
visionboard

Your personal vision board is based on you, who you are, what your goals are and what gets you motivated to keep going and keep focus..

It helps me stay motivated. I used some of my favorite female athletes and actresses that I admire. Along with words that help me through out the day. I keep it along side my nightstand so when I wake up in the morning its the first thing staring right back at me… I still plan on finding a great frame for it..

  •  Favorite Books. I also keep some of my favorite go to books to refer to near by. That way if I find myself having a hard time falling asleep I pick up some good reading that keeps me in the right mind set. For instance 2 of my favorites are

Skinny Bitch- By Rory Freedman, Kim Barnouin

Written in a “No Nonsense” tone, and explains in detail about healthy eating . And what type of foods and drinks to avoid, pretty much sticking to a vegan diet. Using phrases such as “soda being liquid satan” and “beer is for fat phrat boys” . It was published in 2005 and became a staple in my library in 2007. I find my self referring to it so often. These beautiful ladies won me over with their first sentence reading: “You  need to get healthy if you want to get skinny. Healthy=skinny Unhealthy=fat”. They are so brutal that you can not help but jump on board to clean eating!!

That Extra Half Inch By Victoria Beckham

I am one of the biggest Victoria Beckham fans, I first fell in love with her posh sense of style when I saw her sing along side her “Girl Power ” gal pals in the Spice Girls. Her book is a favorite of mine because of how she breaks down classic and timeless fashion. She describe her reasons behind writing this book “‘I’ve always been a girls’ girl. And I know from experience that making the very best of yourself is something any woman can do. I was never the six-foot-tall pin-up. I’ve always been the girl-next-door who got lucky. I’ve come a long way in the last ten years, but this book isn’t my attempt to tell you what or what not to do. It’s just to share some of what I’ve learned” and for some reason that speaks to me.  As Skinny Bitch is my “GO TO” food book.  Victoria’s Book is my “Go To” fashion guide…  Besides my bestie’s blog of course!! (http://brittanymichele.com/)

  • Daily Detox’s– I rely on a few of nature’s remedies for daily detox.. It keeps me sane. I like knowing that I am going that extra mile with my health by consuming safe and healthy vitamins and liquid. 
pills

My Vitamins….

I take a few vitamins daily to insure digestion, continuous weight-loss and to aid in my body’s natural recovery to working out.  What I take is specific to my body’s needs: fish oil 3xs daily, flaxseed oil 3xs daily, woman’s multivitamin, b12, c, D and biotin. And oil of primrose 3xs daily. As well as coconut oil.

I also take Apple Cider Vinegar– The list is endless to its benefits. I personally take it because I feel it has always aided in my digestion as well as keeping my skin clear and metabolism working. You can visit the Bragg Website for a complete list. http://www.bragg.com/)

Aloe Vera Juice and Gel. I actually used to use it as a hangover remedy when I was younger. It is so hydrating and really soothes the stomach lining! I figure if its capable of healing my physical body, I trust it’s healing powers for my internal organs as well.   It is also used as a natural remedy for cancer, cholesterol, diabetes, inflammation, IBS, and other health conditions. I watched a TED talks segment on youtube and they spoke about using nature’s natural resources for daily detox. Specifically any type of Gelatinous type foods such as Aloe Vera and Chia Seeds. I also use chia seeds through out the day. It helps keep me full and helps break down and digest food.

Tea- I drink a wide variety of herbal teas including- Chamomile, Green Tea, Ginger,  and Black Licorice.  Tea is another way to get your body hydrated and you can drink different teas made from different herbs and spices that help detox your body inside and out.

  • FAST FOOD yes I eat fast food, but my definition of fast food is a lot different than my neighbors. I tend to view items that I don’t have to put much thought in, or can prepare the night before as my fast foods.  A few of my regular’s are:

OVER NIGHT OATS 

Over night oats are oats you make dry and allow to cook raw over night in your fridge. It is a quick meal in a jar that is packed with protein, energy and satisfying flavor!  There are many different ways of making overnight oats, I suggest researching some recipes and finding one that works for your budget, diet, and lifestyle.

overnight oats

I used 2 cups dry organic gluten free oatmeal, nonfat greek yogurt, frozen berries, and chia seeds. My recipe varies according to what tomorrows agenda holds, days I know I will be moving and burning more calories I pack with higher protein, and other days I make it light and easy for mellow lazy days .

This is just a peak into a few things that keep me set on the right track. I would be lying if I said I didn’t have bad days or days that I can’t get going. But the big picture is that I can’t stop from continuing to try. Luckily after every bad day there is a new tomorrow. Sometimes even if I had a bad start to my morning I make up for it through out the day… Realize that you are not perfect and that not everything will fall into place every day. Not every week will be a success but that is the idea of making it last a lifetime. This is my lifestyle, this is what defines me : health, fitness, love, family, &  friendships.

I will not give up or give in to defeat.

 

XO,

Dez O

 

#fitfriendssticktogether #skinnyrollercoaster

2 comments

Leave a comment